A Teaching on Sūtra | The Sūtra of the Wheel of Dharma offered by Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche

We invite you to join us live on Monday, August 1, with the well-respected teacher, Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche who will teach 84000’s publication of The Sūtra of the Wheel of Dharma, on this special occasion of Chökor Düchen.

We are honored to have Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche teaching this brief, but classic presentation of the four truths which has remained central to the Buddhist tradition since its very early days.

The Sūtra of the Wheel of Dharma contains one of the most well-known teachings of Buddhism: the four truths of the noble ones. These four truths are: (1) the truth of suffering, (2) the truth of the origin of suffering, (3) the truth of the cessation of suffering, and (4) the truth of the path leading to the cessation of suffering. According to traditional accounts, this is the first teaching taught by the Buddha following his attainment of awakening. The Buddha is said to have journeyed from the seat of awakening in Bodhgaya to the Deer Park outside Varanasi, where he delivered this teaching to his five former spiritual companions. Since this was the first time the Buddha turned the wheel of Dharma, this discourse also became known as The Sūtra of the Wheel of Dharma, or, more commonly, The Sūtra of the Turning of the Wheel of Dharma. This teaching is included in all the major canons of Buddhism, so that versions in Pali, Sanskrit, Chinese and Tibetan are found.

We encourage you to read this brief but important text ahead of teaching this Chökor Düchen. You’ll find more about Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche and all event details below.

This event is organised in partnership with Shedrub Mandala.

Date:
August 1, 2022

Time:
Los Angeles | 6.15am
New York City | 9.15am
Rio de Janeiro | 10.15am
London | 2.15pm
Berlin |  3.15pm
New Delhi | 6.45pm
Nepal | 7pm
Singapore |  9.15pm
Tokyo | 10.15pm
Sydney | 11.15pm
Check your time zone here.

Registration link

Teaching will be offered in Tibetan, with consecutive English, Chinese, French, German, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Ukrainian interpretation on Zoom Webinar.

Live Webcast

Only with English interpretation, for other languages, please register for the Zoom live Webinar above.


About Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche

Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche is a renowned teacher and meditation master in the Kagyu and Nyingma traditions of Tibetan Buddhism. He was born in Tibet in 1951 as the oldest son of Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche, an accomplished master of Buddhist meditation.

Rinpoche spent his youth in India studying the Karma Kagyu, Drikung Kagyu, and Nyingma traditions under the guidance of such eminent masters as His Holiness the 16th Gyalwang Karmapa, Kyabje Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche, His Holiness Dudjom Rinpoche, Khunu Lama Tenzin Gyaltsen, and his father, Kyabje Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche. Thoroughly engaged in the study of classic philosophical treatises, such as Vasubhandu’s Abhidharma Kosha, the Five Texts of Maitreya, Dharmakirti’s Pramanavartika, Shantideva’s Bodhicarya Avatara, and Chandrakirti’s Madhyamaka Avatara, Tulku Chokyi Nyima earned his khenpo degree at an early age.

In 1974, Rinpoche joined his parents in Kathmandu, Nepal, where he assisted them in establishing Ka-Nying Shedrub Ling Monastery. Upon its completion in 1976, H.H. the Karmapa enthroned Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche as the monastery’s abbot, and for over 40 years, Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche has overseen the welfare and spiritual education of almost 500 monks and nuns who primarily reside at Ka-Nying Shedrub Ling Monastery, Asura Cave Retreat Center and Nagi Gompa Hermitage.
Rinpoche established the Rangjung Yeshe Institute for Buddhist Studies (RYI), an international Buddhist college, or “shedra,” which offers an in-depth Buddhist education to international students. RYI has since formed the Center for Buddhist Studies at Kathmandu University, a degree-granting institution for scholarship and academic research that offers BA, MA and PhD degrees in Buddhist Studies and Himalayan Languages.

Rinpoche also established the Dharmachakra Translation Group, a committee of expert translators dedicated to translating and publishing classical Buddhist treatises from the Tibetan and Sanskrit scriptural canons.


Posted: 23 Jul 2022