New Publication: The Teaching on the Aids to Enlightenment

84000 is pleased to announce its newest publication:

Toh 178

In response to a series of queries from Mañjuśrī, Buddha Śākyamuni first exposes the error that prevents sentient beings in general from transcending saṃsāra, and then focuses more particularly on errors that result from understanding the four truths of the noble ones based on conceptual notions of phenomena. He then goes on to explain how someone wishing to attain liberation should skillfully view the following five sets of qualities: (1) the four truths, (2) the four applications of mindfulness, (3) the eightfold path, (4) the five faculties, and (5) the seven branches of enlightenment.

Access this and other sūtras in the 84000 Reading Room:
The Teaching on the Aids to Enlightenment

Join Us

With the help of our 108 founding sponsors and thousands of individual donors, we provide funding to the translators who are working to safeguard these important teachings for future generations.

70000Kangyur pages to be translated
19054Pages translated
15985Pages in translation